Educating Britain

I’ve finally gotten around this week to implementing my threat and I’ve set up another blog. This one devoted to matters related to third level education, and the changes the Tories defacto privatisation have brought about.

Sometimes it’s hard to be a lecturer
In my first article I highlight how one of the many pressures us lecturers now face is dealing with the more litigious and complain heavy nature of modern students. They expect everything to run perfectly…even the ones who regularly show up thirty minutes late for lectures! If they get “marked down” for any reason, they’ll howl with protest, even if the mark they got was still an A!

Of course, as I highlight in my second article, this is an inevitable consequence of the high fees students are now charged. Having paid so much to get into uni, many students have reached the conclusion that they are essentially “buying” a degree and get fairly upset when they realise, no, they still have to put in the long hours and do all the work involved.

I would also pin some of the blame on the second level education system, which has been morphed by previous governments and a target driven culture to be focused towards coaching students how to pass exams…rather than teaching them the skills they need when they get to university, or out in the real world!

Such students, trained as they are to view any course as some sort of exam passing exercise, thus quickly struggle when they are confronted by a third level system where we do not spoon feed students. And our priority is teach them with the skills they will need to become competent engineers and not let them walk out of the door with a degree and design a bridge/plane/car that collapses/crashes and kills hundreds of innocent people (so no, we’re not under that much pressure! :D).

Unmarked Helicopters
Finally, I take the opportunity to blame the parents. Not all parents! But the so-called “helicopter parents”. Such parents put huge pressure on their siblings (hence why they get so worked up over exams and marks) and often interfere with some student’s attempts to study. I’ve heard all sorts of tales of woe from other lecturers over these sorts of parents. From tales of them spying on the students, pressuring them into studying something they simply didn’t want to do (nor have “the knack” for) or encouraging students to cheat. They are the reason why my response to a student asking if I can speak to his parents are, ya okay, after they’ve enrolled and paid the £9k in fees! 🙂

My blog that’s full of energy
Of course some of ye may enquire how I found blogging with livejournal? I’d have to say it is a lot easier to set up and edit posts than blog.co.uk. But I’d still content that “wordpress” is the big daddy in terms of user friendliness.

And speaking of which, many of ye may not know I have whole other blog up and running on wordpress, this one devoted towards matters related to energy and climate.

I’ll still be contributing to this blog on blog.co.uk, as I plan on keeping the wordpress account devoted to energy related topics and the livejournal blog devoted to lecturing and teaching blog posts. But anyway, enjoy!

One thought on “Educating Britain

Leave a Reply

